Skip to main content

A guide to the Hireup booking process

3rd June 2020

The Hireup booking process is a big part of your experience on Hireup. From start to finish, there are many things you need to know about the booking process. Learn how to make, edit, approve and cancel bookings on the platform by following this easy guide.

First, make your booking

Once you’ve found the support worker that’s right for you and you’ve messaged them to discuss the time and date of your booking, it’s time to make it happen. 

There are three easy ways to make a booking from the Hireup platform. 

  • Through the Hireup messaging feature
  • Through your Hireup dashboard
  • Through a support worker’s profile

Approve your booking

After your booking has been completed, your support worker will submit it for you to review.


The booking will appear under ‘bookings’ on your dashboard. Before you approve it, it’s important to make sure all the details are correct. If they are, click ‘approve’ to finalise the process for you and your support worker.

Edit your booking

If your support worker has submitted the booking and you’ve noticed something isn’t quite right, for example: your support worker stayed an extra hour and didn’t include it. You can ask your support worker to change the booking and resubmit it for your approval. Click on ‘edit’ and let your support worker know what’s wrong with the booking by filling in the text box. Once the changes have been made, if all the details are now correct, you can ‘approve’ the booking. 

Can I change the details of my booking?

Unfortunately, if you want to edit or change the details of a booking you’ve made before it’s happened, you will need to cancel that booking and rebook with the correct details. If this happens, it’s important to communicate the change with your support worker.

I'm a support worker, how do I edit my Hireup shift?

As a support worker, you will be able to edit the time you worked, the vehicle allowance and information about your sleepover shift.

How do I claim my kilometres?

If your vehicle allowance doesn't appear on your booking, you will have to contact the person you support and ask them to enable the feature for you. Under the SCHADS industry award, a worker is entitled to claim $0.80 per kilometre as a Vehicle Allowance. This only applies for the distance they have driven during that shift. This does not include travel to and from the shift.

Discover more about claiming your vehicle allowance.

Cancel your booking

If your booking hasn’t happened yet, cancelling your Hireup booking is simple. Find your booking on the platform and click ‘cancel booking’. From here you can also cancel a repeat booking by clicking on ‘cancel all’. Bookings can only be cancelled before they’ve happened. If the booking has already occurred, changes can only be made by your support worker.